Barretts ACE Hardware

Turns out  my boss’s Aunt Alice (Jakovich) use to work for many years here at Barretts ACE Hardware. That was back before the downtown was known as City Center which is what it is called now.I didn’t know her back then but had the pleasure of knowing her after I started working for her nephew, my boss, Tony Golobitsh in 1987. Back in the 1960′s and 1970′s, when I was a kid, my dad use to take us  there when would go shopping  to get his hardware and painting supplies. Barretts was in business for 148 years in downtown Joliet and closed in 1999. I work in the City Center so I see this building weekly. It has been sitting empty since it’s closing. This saddens me to see. I would love to be inside just one more time to smell the old wood floors with worn traffic patterns, see the rolling ladders used to retrieve items high on the shelves that lined the perimeter, and walk the aisles where they stocked every kind of hardware item you could imaging ever needing…or not..  I swear they had every screw, nut, bolt ever made in there. I miss the old place.

Barretts ACE Hardware City Center Joliet, IL

Barretts ACE Hardware City Center Joliet, IL

